Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Have an account?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Managing thoughts of suicide & self-harm

MedicalMystery
Casual Contributor

Suicidal thoughts are getting stronger and I’m getting more tired

My suicidal thoughts are becoming more strong and I’m becoming more tired. I’ve stopped journaling, I’ve stopped reaching out to Psych Triage, I’ve stopped taking medication and I’ve stopped sleeping. I’m a kinder teacher and I still manage to drag myself to work and put on a fake persona but the moment I’m home it becomes overwhelming. I reached out to my social worker who held a safe space for me to cry on the phone today during my lunch break, but that was about it. I’m honestly losing seeing the point in life.

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Suicidal thoughts are getting stronger and I’m getting more tired

Hey @MedicalMystery I'm really sorry to hear that the SI has gotten so overwhelming for you. It's a heavy thing to have to sit with, and made more difficult by the fact that so few people are open to talking about it. With the extra energy required to mask and put on a brave face, to keep distracted and occupied... it's no wonder you're feeling burnt out from it all. Have things been this dark for you before? Are you worried or thinking about acting on the thoughts?

Do you have much luck contacting crisis services when you're in need of some immediate support? Could be something to keep in mind as an option, here's a lil list:

Lifeline: 13 11 14 or Crisis Chat 

Suicide call back service: 1300 659 467 or online counselling 

Samaritans: 135 247